We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous?
Actually, who are you not to be? . . .
Your playing small does not serve the world.”
~ Marianne Williamson

steps A step towards becoming the person you have always wanted to be; have you taken it, or do you hide behind the excuses?  You know exactly the ones I mean…all those words that you try to bury permanently, but that find a way to escape and destroy.  “When I have the money”, or “If I lose this weight”, or “If I can convince my significant other to help me”.  Remember Yoda from Star Wars?  “Do or do not…there is no try”.

As I take my journey, it is becoming crystal clear that not only does it belong to me exclusively, but the key ingredient is mindset.  As a diving coach I learned quickly that if I could assist my students in visualizing the perfect dive by choosing the right words and having them practice them in the correct sequence, always mindful of practicing it CORRECTLY, they would perform it correctly.  It is true as we live each and every day.

I had the pleasure of listening to an hour-long tele-conference with Yvonne Oswold, author of the best-seller “Every Word has Power”. Begin to change the words you use to avoid “low-energy” words like hard, hate, dislike, or difficult.  There have been studies that show these actually lower your immune system when spoken!  Rather, choose “high-energy” words such as “not easy”, love, and excitement, light.  A different part of your brain is used when these are spoken.  She shared so many wonderful exercises to help with a variety of limiting beliefs.

Yvonne suggests finding a “switch buddy” to catch you saying the low words by saying “switch”.  You will both benefit immediately.  If you feel a need to vent, and this is good to release the negative, ask permission for a 5 minute vent.  Your buddy shall allow the words to flow right on by and over their head!  I sure can see the benefit of this one.  With kids, simply ask them to help you change YOUR posture (for example) by clearing their throat when you slouch.  You will see their posture improve, too!

Me in South Africa on an ant hill

Do this…I am going to write a letter to myself every morning, imagining all the things in detail that I will have accomplished by evening.  I will share in the letter how I will feel and how awesome it was to have the fabulous day I just had.  Share with me your results in a few days!  I would love to hear from you.

Namaste, Bobbie Rae Murphy  513-7081-803

